Grants & Awards

The Faculty of Information Alumni Association generously administers a number of grants and awards for both students and alumni. Read reports written by previous grant recipients about their experiences.

FIAA Student Conference / Research Grants

MI and MMSt students who have been invited to a conference in order to present their work or participate on a panel can apply for a conference grant.  Learn more about the FIAA Student Conference Grant.

FIAA Alumni Professional Development Grant

Alumni of the Faculty of Information and its predecessors (e.g. Faculty of Information Studies (FIS), FLIS, FLS, SLIS, etc.) are invited to apply for funding up to a maximum of $500 for professional development activities through the FIAA Alumni Professional Development Grant.

FIAA Outstanding Alumni Award & Outstanding Student Contribution Award

Each year, FIAA  presents the FIAA Outstanding Alumni Award and the FIAA Outstanding Student Contribution Award, which honour an outstanding alumnus and student, respectively. Learn more about these awards, and view a list of award recipients from previous years.

Wendy Newman Library Leadership Award

The Wendy Newman Library Leadership Award was established upon the 2015 retirement of Wendy Newman, an 11-year Faculty of Information lecturer and champion of public librarianship. The award recognizes her longstanding commitment to the Faculty of Information and to building principled library leadership capacity in the broader profession. It was generously endowed with a $25,000 gift from the Newman family and contributions from faculty, staff and the broader professional community.

Arbor Award

The University of Toronto celebrates its volunteers with the annual Arbor Awards, and honours it’s recipeints with a ceremony each fall. The nomination period opens each year in February for an eight week period.

The Arbor Award can be granted for contributions to specific academic units, such as faculties, colleges or institutes, or to the University at large. Sponsored by University Advancement, the award ceremony takes place each September.


Awards News

November 18, 2021
Congratulations to post-doctoral researcher Gaël Bernard and Assistant Professor Periklis Andritsos, who won the Best Demo award from the International Conference on Process Mining earlier...