Latest Faculty of Information News

Faculty of Information volunteers honoured at 2023 Arbor Awards

Submitted on Wednesday, January 31, 2024

The University of Toronto held a ceremony to honour the 2023 Arbor Award recipients, recognized for their exceptional and longstanding volunteer service. The Faculty of Information is particularly grateful to the following individuals for giving generously of their time, energy and expertise to benefit Information students.

Haley Sharpe Design (Kate Aitchison, Carolina Garcia, Orysia Goddard and Hannah Hadfield)

As leaders at Haley Sharpe Design, Kate, Carolina, Orysia and Hannah have volunteered their time to provide workshops and mentorship to students in the Master of Museum Studies program. Supporting more than 45 individuals to date, their contributions have helped students develop professional portfolios, showcase their skills and achievements and gain invaluable work-integrated learning experiences. During peer-to-peer workshops, students share their work-in-progress, gain insights from their peers and mentors and practice the vital skill of giving and receiving feedback. Students then meet one-on-one with their mentors to review their completed portfolio and discuss the experience and their work. This program supports emerging museum professionalsin their career and professional growth. The portfolio that students produce during this program is a tool to showcase their individual talent and skills, focusing on visual assets, process, and narrative. This tool, and the design-thinking process used to create it, provides applicable skills and learning opportunities, supporting students’ ongoing professional development.

Wendy Newman

Wendy was instrumental in co-founding the Faculty of Information’s Public Library Leadership program and has co-led the program for the past eight years. She has been involved in every aspect of the program’s operations, from curriculum management to mentor selection and much more. Thanks to her dedication to the program’s growth and success, 110 students have graduated from the program to date.

The Wendy Newman Library Leadership Award was established in 2015 upon Wendy’s retirement from lecturing at the Faculty for more than a decade. It recognizes her longstanding commitment to the Faculty and to building principled library leadership capacity in the broader profession. It was generously endowed with a $25,000 gift from the Newman family and contributions from faculty, staff and the broader professional community. Learn more about donating to the Wendy Newman Library Leadership Award.

Mike Papineau

As the CEO of RideFlag Technologies, a Faculty of Information co-op employer, Mike is a staunch supporter of students’ professional development. Over the past three years, he has hired and mentored eight students and worked closely with each of them to ensure their co-op experience was positive. Mike has consistently emphasized the role employers play in providing a meaningful and rewarding work environment for student development.

Rebecca Raven

Rebecca co-founded the Faculty of Information’s Public Library Leadership program in 2012 and co-led the program until 2022. Her leadership touched every aspect of the program’s operations, from curriculum and mentor management to day-to-day operations and more. To date, 110 students have graduated from the program.

Read the University of Toronto’s announcement to see all of the 2023 Arbor Award recipients

Filed under: